SABAH & SARAWAK, Malaysian Borneo





The monarchy Malaysia has 13 states, two of them, Sabah and Sarawak are situated in the region East Malaysia
on Borneo. They are also the two largest states in Malaysia.


Area: 73 631 sq km (16 % of Sweden)
Population: 3.1 million. Major ethnic groups are Kadazan-Dusun, Bajau, Malay, Maurut. Then there are over 25 smaller ethnic groups (together they are often called bumiputra), in the Malay Archipelago.
Capital: Kota Kinabalu (463 000 inh.)
Tourism: Over 2 million visitors annually, many of them eco-tourist, visiting the six national parks and other reserves.


Area: 124 450 sq km (28 % of Sweden)
Population: 2.4 million. 7 major and > 40 sub-ethnic groups.
Capital: Kuching (618 000 inh.)


Time difference: 7 hours earlier than Sweden. From 25 March 6 hours earlier (when Sweden starts DST).
Time zone in Sabah-Sarawak is MYT. No DST.

Sunrise: 06:24 in Kota Kinabalu 11 March. 06:15 31 March.
Sunset: 18:27 11 March, 18:25 31 March.

International telephone country code: +60

International country code: MY

Currency: Ringgit (RM, Ringgit Malaysia) (international shortening is MYR)
1 MYR = 2:34 SEK

Electricity: 240 Volt, 50 Hz. Plug type G (British 3-pin) 

Traffic: Drives on the left side.

Erling Jirle 25 Jan 2012.